Month: October 2016

Please Welcome the VWIHL !

14589654_685495941603454_8183607513283156853_oThis year marks the inaugural year of the Victorian Women’s Ice Hockey League, and it takes place every Monday night at the Olympic Ice Skating Centre in Oakleigh.

Women have had a very long history in Australian ice hockey, many years before the 1922 introduction of the Gower Cup for the first Women’s inter-state ice hockey series. With this year also being the first year for the Australian Women’s Ice Hockey League Tier 2 competition, it is a sign of growth for women in the sport to see this new league begin its inaugural year with large thanks to Australian Ice Sports.

The league consists of 4 teams; Eagles, Vultures, Kookaburras and Falcons