Month: September 2016

Melbourne Dragons Are Off To Sydney

The l14433120_959266197533965_8769481907054215411_nast round of the inaugural season for the Australian Women’s Ice Hockey League Tier 2 league begins today at 6:30pm in the Hunter Ice Skating Stadium against the Western Australian Hawkettes.

The last round will run from September 30th – October 3rd.

The Dragons have just departed, best of luck !

Follow the stats for the 2016 AWIHL Tier 2 season here:

2016 Women’s Lightning Tournament

Today is the14479593_10210883150217552_1399532567067959286_n last day to sign up for the 2016 Women’s Lightning Tournament.

As part of the 2016 IIHF World Girls Ice Hockey Weekend this tournament is open to IHV/IHA registered female players age 14+

Sign up by September 30th, 2016 via the following Facebook page (ask to join if you are not already a member):

or email Julie Cantrill for any information:

Free “Come and Try” Ice Hockey for Females

14480758_10210883000933820_6558451236551896419_oAs part of the 2016 IIHF World Girls’ Ice Hockey Weekend, “Come & Try Hockey” for females is being hosted at O’Brien Group Arena on Sunday October 9th 2016, between 12:15pm-2:15pm (12:15pm gives everybody an hour to get prepared to go on the ice for 1:15pm).

Price ? Free. Yes that’s right, it’s free for you to try out that sport you have always wanted to try. See you there !

Last Tryout Session for the 2016 Jim Brown Tournament State Team

unspecifiedThis is it, last tryout for the 2016 Victorian Jim Brown Tournament.The Jim Brown Trophy is currently an annually awarded interstate ice hockey championship trophy in Australia for an annual tournament for senior men aged 17 years and older with the condition that players of the Australian Ice Hockey League that are 24 years and older must have played less than 6 games to remain eligible.

When: Monday October 3rd, 2016.
Time: 7:30pm
Cost: $20
Where: O’Brien Group Arena

Image: Richard Costello

Demons Win The 2016 Non-Checking C2 Championship

2016-c2-championsThe Demons won the Non Checking C2 finals with a narrow 3 – 2 win over the Blackhawks to take home the Clive Connelly Trophy.

Game 3 of the Non-Checking C2 series shaped up to be a closely contested game, the Blackhawks opened the scoring when Ivan Kulakovsky got the puck past Henry Offord from Daniel Donkin at 14:27 in the first period. The Blackhawks lead at the end of the first period 1 – 0 and outshot the Demons by a narrow margin of 11 – 6.

The Demons tied up the game when Paul Rice, who was playing his 650th game, scored from Andrea Polari and Rod Johns. The Demons would get the go ahead goal seven and a half minutes later with an unassisted goal by Max Edwards. The Blackhawks tied up the game going into the third period with a Paul Mallia goal from Jol Duffel and just under 3 minutes remaining in the period.

Andrea Polari scored what would end up being the game winning goal for the Demons at 9:20 from Casey Wood and Paul Rice. The pressure in the Blackhawks zone saw them put on the extra attacker with only 35 seconds left in the game to try to tie up the game but in the end, the Demons would take the final game of the series and be the 2016 Champions in the Non-Checking C2 division.

Shots on goal:
Blackhawks – 31
Demons – 18